A brief history about Ayr Figure Skating Club

AFSC Was formed in 1958 at Ayr Ice Rink Beresford Terrace. The first club competition was formed the following year. Sadly in 1972, the shareholders of the rink were made such a good offer by Safeway that the Rink closed and the site was turned into a supermarket.

It took three years before the Club found a new home at Limekiln Road. In 1982 the committee and members welcomed skaters from all over Great Britain and Ireland to the first AYR OPEN. Since then it has established itself in the skating calendar, and is always well supported.

During its history, todate, the AFSC has produced Scottish and British champions at various standards.


Interview with Gail McKnight

Nicki MacDonald interviews Ayr Figure Skating coach Gail McKnight about the clubs achievements, history and the enjoyment of the sport.


    Committee Members

  • Mandy Simpson
  • Khyla Thompson
    Vice President
  • Helen Lennox
  • Leah McGowan
  • Kelly Huxtable
    Committee Member
  • Janice Gilmour
    Committee Member
  • Stewart Richmond
    Committee Member
  • Simon Gowing
    Committee Member
  • Lea-Anne Valdrighi
    Committee Member
  • Helen Somerville
    Honorary President
    NISA Test Organiser